Live Forums

Join our live forums taking place on Facebook on the third Thursday of every month. This interactive forum is a way to connect with a vibrant community of facilitators, youth workers, workshop leaders, and educators around the world. We’ve designed the process for optimum sharing of ideas and experience across distance.

Each live forum focuses on a specific aspect of Creative Empowerment facilitation and is led by a Partners for Youth Empowerment trainer or lead facilitator. See our list of Upcoming Trainings: Ongoing Learning for this month’s topic. These events are FREE and lots of FUN!

All are welcome! If you work with groups of youth or adults, or want to increase your impact and creativity, you will benefit. Join us live on Facebook or view the transcript/recording below (scroll down to end of page).


How it works

Where: Join us in our private facebook group

Duration: 90 minutes

Format: It’s entirely written. We begin with a brief check-in and a set of goals and agreements that everyone can contribute to. The facilitator guides the discussion.  You are free to come and go throughout the assembly. Participate as your schedule allows and feel free to return later to review parts of the discussion you missed!

When: 3rd Thursday of every month

Time: 8am Seattle / Vancouver | 11am Toronto / Bogota | 2pm Rio de Janeiro | 4pm London | 6pm Cape Town | 9:30pm Bangalore

Visit a time zone conversion clock to determine the start time in your area.


Meet Your Facilitator: Kathy Ellwand

Kathy is a PYE lead facilitator and youth worker based in the UK. She leads CF1, CF2, and Creative Classrooms trainings in Spanish and English and creative community model youth camps. She has worked with the Creative Empowerment Model since 2009, implementing this style of facilitation in many settings, including an international youth club in Brighton, UK creating a safe space for young refugees and asylum seekers and local young people aged 14 – 25. Kathy represented PYE on a 3-year European partnership about music therapy for drug and alcohol rehabilitation. She specialises in community singing, forum theatre and participatory approaches.


Transcripts of Past Forums

Take a look at PDF transcripts of past topics including mindfulness in facilitation, self-love for facilitators, and the power of body and voice in a workshop environment. Simply click on the link to download the file.

We welcome your suggestions for live forum topics. Please email info@partnersforyouth.org

Personal Development

Group Dynamics

Technique


WHAT PEOPLE SAY

“The Live Forum gives me the chance to reflect on my facilitation work with a community of other practitioners. To be able to work through successes and failures, through case studies and examples with others, has allowed me to continue learning and growing in my facilitation."

Andrew Nalani

Partners for Youth Empowerment Lead Facilitator, Uganda/USA, Graduate Student

"The 3rd Thursday Assembly has been immensely helpful to me. My confidence as a facilitator has increased, my connection to the greater community has grown, and I have learned so much.”

Nesreen Ali

Creative Facilitator

“3rd Thursday helps me feel connected to other social artists and deepen my practice. They understand me in a way that no one else does! I get to be celebrated and supported, and I think through the biggest issues in my work.”

Barb Danielewski

Creative Facilitator, Kingston ON, Canada